February 23th – 2014

It was one of my best friends birthday (Joanna) today, I spent the time before her dinner hanging out and studying with Raymond. It was a really productive day, we studied and even got to go to Krispy Kremes. That first bite, haha brought back so many childhood memories for me.

Something scary happened to us today when we were driving back from Delta on the highway; our car hydroplaned and we could have been severly injured if there was a car behind us. It was snowing really hard. When it all happened, I couldn’t think straight. I expected my life to flash before my eyes, blah blah blah, what they saw in the movies, but instead all I heard was “Nickol, stay calm okay, are you okay”. Ray keeping composure and calm helped me. I took a deep breath and as our car was spinnning on the highway, it seemed like it was happening in slow motion, when in fact it all happened quite quickly.

Surprisingly I wasn’t scared. I wasn’t as scared or panicking like I usually would in a situation similar to this. I wonder why that is. Is it because I’m not scared to die? I’m happy with my life right now, I’m doing all the things I want to do, I’m living the way I want to live. I have amazing friends and family around me.

If I died right now, I wouldn’t have any regrets -

Maybe, just maybe that was the thought that I had in that particular moment. I’m so thankful that me and Ray are both safe, with no harm done! I could only imagine the aftermath of a car accident. Through this experience, I am able to say I’m not afraid of death, but I’m going to cherish the little things in life more. Being blessed with everything and everyone that’s in my life.

Leave a Reply

